‘Tis a gift to be simple…

So starts a very familiar Shaker tune from years past, yet which still rings true today.  Some of the greatest joys in life are truly the simplest.  I so often get to behold this in the children and families that I photograph, the moments in which something as simple as blowing dandelion seeds or popping bubbles translates to sheer happiness.  I realized while sitting in my air conditioned home the other morning that although I grew up without air conditioning (as so many of us did), it meant that the windows were always open in spring and summer – and with open windows came birdsong, especially in the morning.  In our fast paced day and age filled with modern conveniences, it seems that some simple joys have fallen by the wayside.  For the rest of the summer I’m going to be devoting myself to a new series and project, entitled “Simple Gifts.”  I look forward to showing you images that highlight some of the simple gifts and joys that I get to observe.  I’d be thrilled if you’d take a moment to share some of your favorite simple joys in the comments section.

To kick off the series, here is a recent shot of a homemade strawberry rhubarb pie and jam that a friend dropped off as a surprise care package the other day.  I relished every bite not only because it was totally delicious, but because it made me take a few moments out of my otherwise chaotic day to stop and enjoy something for the simple delight it was.

Your mission should you choose to accept it:  take off the blinders our frazzled lifestyles seem to make us wear, and take a good look around at all there is to enjoy – no matter how small or simple.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

